Business and Story

93607I’m reading a book called The Story Factor: Inspiration, Influence, and Persuasion Through the Art of Storytelling by Annette Simmons. I got it in the business section of Rhino Booksellers on Granny White Pike.

It’s a remarkable book, and I highly recommend it. It leans toward the business side of things, but it’s transferable skill spreads into any industry. Any time you educate yourself on story you grow as a person, and I think you become much more authentic.

I’ve only been in business for myself for 7 years, but before that I worked for others even before I graduated from college. The skills I developed were important, but the things that stand out in my mind are the stories I remember people telling me. The experiences I had also stand out more than the lists I memorized, and the obstacles I’m overcoming present themselves not as bullet points, but as life transforming stories I will tell my grandkid(s).

The fact that Jesus taught with parables is proof that mankind learns the best through stories. God has been telling stories since Genesis, so even story predates the earthly time of Jesus Christ by thousands of years.

It seems to me that even though statistics, lists and percentages have their place the most remarkable thing about language isn’t that you see the letters e-l-e-p-h-a-n-t, rather when I say elephant you see a large mammal with a long trunk and possibly tusks. You might even see a line of elephants holding each others tails with their trunks.

I think the thing I like most about this book is not that she forces you to teach with stories, but she shows you how practical story creates progress in business and personal life.

Give it a read, and come back here to let me know what you think.

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

