In The Moment

imagesPowerful things happen when you live fully in the moment. I’ve had many jobs I hated, so I  wonder sometimes had I done that in the work I hated what could have happened.

I’m fond of saying hindsight is 20/20, and it is, but when you can intelligently look back at your failures you can learn a lot about fully embracing the moment.

I try to do too many things at once. I’m not telling you not to multi-task, but when I do I don’t perform well. Part of the reason is that as a proud member of the male gender it is in my DNA to focus on one thing. God made us that way. It makes me a good leader. I can get things done where others might still be talking about how to do it.

I love the fact that I am in a predominately female industry, and when Lorilee and I are batting ideas back and forth I love the connection we make in talking. My network group on Tuesday mornings is also very refreshing because I love the connections I make with Kimberly, Liz and Holly. My mom modeled for me an incredible sense of awe for what women are able to do. Carey and I still have the problems married people have, but I’d like to think I’m above average because of my industry and the deep respect I have for the training my mom gave me. She actually still gives me knowledge and wisdom. Her frugal ways remind of one the most affluent families in Nashville whose legendary “cheapness” is mentioned every week. Dave Ramsey would be proud. Actually, this family is on first name basis with Ramsey. Birds of a feather flock together.

Who you associate with in business says a tremendous amount about who you are. Sure, there are bridges that burn, and that’s just business, it’s not personal, but as we dust off the dust of failure or personality issues then we can move on to bigger and better things.

I think we do this by engaging fully in the moment.

I am doing this this weekend by unplugging from the grid. No Twitter, Facebook, Blog, Website, Pinterest or Instagram.

It’s hard, and especially when that phone is vibrating to let you know that the latest tweet has come through.

Give it a try and see if it doesn’t make a difference. I guarantee it will.

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

