Limitations and Strengths

93607Residential cleaning is fun. I enjoy the process of waking up in the morning, making sure I have all the supplies I need and heading out to the townhouse, house, condo, apartment or flat to clean.

Now, I need to express some negativity. This morning I had intentions to get up at 5am. That did not happen, but I was able to get my daughter to school on time, and now I’m back doing what I had intended to do at 5. My daughter and my wife, of course, are not able to enjoy the sausage and toast, but I’m moving on. There is disappointment, but then there is regret, and regret is harder to move beyond.

I will eventually create a habit of waking up at 5 to prepare breakfast for my family.

All things worthwhile take the development of habit to bring about. You have to want to do them too.

The other day I took on a one-time account for a move-out clean. I should have declined the sale because I do not like nor want to do move-out or move-in cleanings.

This morning we now have to make a fourth trip to this house to finish the work. The seven years I’ve been in business I’ve said a thousand times that I do not want to do these kinds of cleanings. They are for companies like Serv Pro. They have the necessary equipment to do the job right. As a residential cleaning company, even though these houses are private residences they still need a shop vac and other essential tools that a maid service does not have.

It’s important to know what you do well in business, and when you know your limitations you can work around them to accentuate your strengths.

If you want to get up at 5am make the adjustments necessary to do so. If you don’t like deep cleaning such that we still aren’t finished with then say no. There will be other open doors, and the frustration you’ll be able to avoid.

Have a great weekend!

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

