The Challenge

donmeyer3

I dedicate this post to the family of Coach Don Meyer who embodied the principles in this post.

Reaching for a goal is never a straight shot. At least it hasn’t been for Tomlinson Cleaning.

Becoming a Lifeguard in high school was fraught with twists and turns I did not expect, yet I became a Lifeguard to not only protect a pool, but that summer I was one of about 5 Lifeguards that patrolled a beach front area on a Michigan lake.

Later during my Freshman year at Lipscomb before my license had expired I did some lifeguarding at Westside Athletic Club on Highway 100.

I worked really hard to become a Lifeguard. That’s the short story.

My next challenge was a college degree, and though I finished a semester after I thought I was going to finish I finished nonetheless.

I began work as a youth pastor shortly after that while I sold upholstery fabric and handwoven rugs downtown. During that time I began dating my now wife, Carey, and we got married in 1998. After a brief stay in Evansville Carey graduated with her degree in Physical Therapy, and we moved back to Nashville. We both love Nashville, and though we’ve had stop offs in other places we call Nashville home today.

Some years after that I worked hard again in the classroom to complete my masters in biblical Hebrew, and my daughter was born not too long after that. She is the light of my life, and for 9 years now she is the crowning jewel in my crown. I pray every day that I will be the dad that she deserves and needs. It’s been the hardest work of my life, but the most rewarding. I dare say Carey would agree.

I share that part of my story to illustrate why we must look at the past to appreciate where we are today, and when the lies overwhelm us remind ourselves of what we’ve already achieved.

Winston Churchill told us to never give up, and we’ve done well to follow his encouragement through WWII, the Korean War, Vietnam, Desert Storm, 9/11 and the ever present struggle again Al Qaeda, whom we can’t see, but God most certainly can. He’s fought for us all along, and He’ll continue to fight for those who fear and love Him. Trusting His guidance will deliver us from evil.

That is what I continue to do as a business man. I trust that when my thoughts and feeling betray me that He is the protector of my heart, soul, mind and strength, and no matter what happens His goodness never fails.

Oh that every man, woman, boy and girl do the same.

May we in our families, work and philanthropy recognize that He is the giver of all that is good even when it may not be politically correct to express that reality. Man has forever been setting himself against the purposes and plans of his Creator.

We don’t have to dwell on that for Solomon in Ecclesiastes gave us what we can dwell on.

Work hard, eat, sleep and enjoy the fruits of our labor.

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

