Resolve and Flexibility

This excellent book will empower you to start finding that resolve and flexibility I write about in this post. Jon Acuff will steer you in the right direction. It's a wonderful book.

This excellent book will empower you to start finding that resolve and flexibility I write about in this post. Jon Acuff will steer you in the right direction. It’s a wonderful book.

Resolve and flexibility seem to be two opposing habits. They don’t have to be. Flexibility it seems to me, includes keeping all options open, but it doesn’t have to mean that.

Flexibility is a necessary part of resolve because in the midst of large pursuits such as starting and operating a business you have issues like the economy out of your control.

When the recession hit full force in 2008 I had only been in business for a year. I was on the verge of bringing a team member on board, but that quickly changed because of the recession. I continued on as a sole proprietor, and here it is some 6 years later that I’m only again looking to bring my first team on board. My resolve to make this business work is still in effect, but I had to be flexible in bringing team members on board.

I suppose there were many other Nashville businesses that brought on team members during the recession, but I had to deal with what was on my plate. I had no control over what other companies do. I only had control over what Tomlinson Cleaning did and does.

I think that kind of resolve produces a healthy thinking that lends itself to the flexibility that needs to be there for every successful business.

Business is a living, breathing organism, and when you treat one business or person like every other business or person I think you’re doomed to fail. You might be able to sustain it for a season, but the more you add water to the soup the more people are going to realize it’s not as good as it used to be, and they are going to find soup somewhere else. Sam Davidson recently sent out a Sam’s Daily Dose that talked about the quickest isn’t always the best. Quality and patience are two essential ingredients to resolve, and if you don’t incorporate them into your business your gas station, maid service or law firm will look like every other one out there. Don’t do it because you can. Do it because you want to, you enjoy it, and it provides value to those you are serving.

If I’m an NFL, NBA, NHL or MLB player I would hope I have a love for the game despite the millions of dollars I get paid. If money, ease of the job or daddy wants me to do it are the only reasons I do something then I suggest you seriously re-examine your resolve to do it. If those are the driving factors then exercise some flexibility to realign your resolve to find something with more value for your talents and passion.

Life is too short or too long to settle for anything less.

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

