Leadership

wpid-312853_156140261135381_6040674_n.jpgWhen a business finds its power it hinges heavily on its leader. A leader’s focus and direction is vital for an organization’s health.

I discovered something today at the Burton Hills pool that was significant. Being present in the here and now is vital for a leader’s sanity even when life’s paradox requires a dad to communicate a sense of urgency to obey. As a business owner my attitude isn’t such that I’m trying to get my team members to obey, put there are similar tensions that must be balanced. The tension in one’s own self is enough to practice on.

As I was servicing an account today there were a thousand things going through my mind as I made my way through the house. Even though house cleaning is a low skill labor you still must focus on getting the job done in the midst of distractions. The distractions are even worse when I clean my own house because I find something else that takes my mind and activity away from cleaning. This is actually the proverbial question of all time. If we all stayed focus to accomplish the task in front of us we’d have an outbreak of incredibly accomplished people. Now, there are many successful people in our circles of influence, but I dare say if there was not the fallen nature of our world at play how perfect our world would be.

Effective leaders on any level in any industry know how to wade through the brokenness to create something beautiful. I think that’s why I like people like Seth Godin, Nashville’s own, Sam Davidson (Cool People Care and Batch Nashville) and many others who influence what I do in business. Jon Acuff has to be mentioned. Anything these guys write needs to be listened to and put into practice. Another man I highly respect is Tom Stanley who is infamous for books such as The Millionaire Mind. So much of what we have bought into about leadership, business and money just isn’t true, but I think the entrepreneurs I mentioned above have enlightened us despite the lies.

My friend Ty Osman continues to inspire me as he effectively operates Solomon Builders. Not only does he keep it local, but he makes time to personally give back to the city of Nashville and beyond. As I write I’m reminded of a book he told me about that I haven’t read in some time. I need to open my Kindle on my phone to get back into Half-Time. Good leaders like Ty recommend books, and not only do they give financially, but they give an education, encouragement and in some cases tough love. A good leader doesn’t always tell you what you want to hear. He or she appropriately bends your ear to make you better, not bitter. Like Ty, they have probably been in prayer for many years, been through very tough situations, and they have likely talked to many other entrepreneurs and business owners. Their advice and thoughts were born in the trenches.

That doesn’t mean you have to take everything they say and apply it to your situation because every person, business and situation is different. They know that, and when we ask God for knowledge and wisdom He will reveal to us what needs to be done through the capable leaders we interact with.

In closing I’d just like to say never let your pride or lack of pride (shame) keep you from asking for help. As children we learned what we experienced, and many times it takes years to overcome that programming. A good leader can shorten that time if we are willing to listen, follow and imitate their good habits. It’s not going to happen overnight. Be patient.

Tomlinson Cleaning has recently experienced a windfall, but it’s taken me 7 years to get here. There is not substitute for hard work, experience and listening to those who have gone before us.

Search out those capable leaders in your circles. They’re there. They want to help, and if anything most of what they do is make you feel validated. They give you hope, and I bet they’ll nod their head yes a lot as you share experiences that they went through themselves.

Thank you for reading good people.

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

