Belle Meade Epiphany

IMG_0160Belle Meade revealed even more thoughts on Saturday as I cleaned a house. It’s always been an inspirational place for me even when I was a Lifeguard at Westside Athletic Club over 20 years ago. Percy Warner is a beautiful place where I’ve spent time in prayer, writing and reading, and when I’ve been down a drive down the Boulevard is almost as therapeutic as a chill pill.

As I contemplate my own story, and the stories of those I know about in Belle Meade I’m still impressed with the fact that everyone, rich and poor, is fighting a battle.

As a man of the cloth, now in two different ways, a pastor and a maid man I’ve been privileged to serve people spiritually and physically. I’ve come to appreciate more of the physical side of healing when my brokenness interacts with the brokenness of those I serve. Not all trials have a resolution, and time doesn’t heal all wounds. We learn how to cope.

My friend and mentor Ty Osman, co-owner with Greg Turner at Solomon Builders, a commercial builder in Nashville is exactly right. People bring their problems with them to work. We have to be sensitive first to our own fragility and when we love ourselves we are able to love others. You cannot give what you don’t possess.

Our stories are very relevant to our business, and though you see motivational writer/speaker after motivational writer/speaker talk about what you are isn’t what you do I would argue that isn’t true. What we choose to do is very much a part of who we are, and though it doesn’t define us it most certainly makes us who we are. You can’t spend 40 hours a week practicing a particular trade without it somehow forming you.

Be gentle. Expect excellence, and learn how to draw boundaries, but when the lies enter your mind recognize them and refute them so that you can be all you were created to be.

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

