The Zone

93607Sometimes I find that Michael Jordan zone when I’m cleaning. Don’t get me wrong. I love to clean, but some days I get into that focused zone that Michael Jordan talked about when no one could stop him. Obviously the obstacles I face are self-imposed or physical ailments that impede progress, but nonetheless all of us face obstacles whether we enjoy something or not. If it was easy everybody would play basketball or start a business. Neither one is easy, so when we find someone or something that inspires us to do better we follow that person’s example and ideas to achieve the greatness we’re after.

Part of my zone yesterday included an experience with the refrigerator I’d like to share. I pulled out a Weiman Stainless Steel wipe to use, and when I thought I’d finished I walked away to dust an end table, but when I headed back into the kitchen I noticed I had missed some spots. The thought that distance provides perspective gave me pause that the epiphany is right on. Time doesn’t heal all wounds, but it certainly does allow us to see things in a better light.

Be patient when the end result isn’t what you wanted. Don’t give up, but don’t fixate on the negative. Recognize it and don’t deny it because that which is not faced will not go away. Pause long enough to see the “smudges”, but don’t beat yourself up over missing them the first time. Get out another wipe and buff it again with a dry rag, and keep doing it when you see more “smudges.”

That is so true to life, and eventually you’ll create a habit of excellence that though, there may be smudges, those smudges will be fewer and farther between.

We aren’t going to be successful all the time in dotting all our i’s or crossing all our t’s, but when we find something we enjoy, and we lose ourselves in that focused zone we’ll get better, and we’ll feel better about ourselves and the world around us.

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

