When The Grass is Greener

IMG_0186As I look out my office window I think about the fact that I did not plant grass seed this past fall, but it amazes me how much of the year before is coming through. It doesn’t look too shabby for having not planted seed.

I’ll budget Tomlinson Cleaning’s landscape envelope a bit better this year, so we can plant some seed in the fall.

As my grandma would way, “I’m just so proud” it looks the way it does despite the fact.

Life and business is a lot like that. We “plant” seeds here and there, and even years or months later we can reap a reward. That can be said for good or bad seed. Bad seed in this case being bad customer service. Yes, I’m guilty, but what business or sales rep hasn’t failed a prospect. We tend to learn more from our failures than our successes any way. I’m not going out here today to intentionally fail because like I told my friend and business associate Michael the other day, I don’t care how many times you lose you never get used to it. We want to win, and it stays that way till we die.

I want to look out at Tomlinson Cleaning’s landscape to see something that people compare to a golf course. I want to check Tomlinson Cleaning’s checking account to see a four or even five figure balance. I want to be able to give my future employees a sizable Christmas bonus for the hard work they will put in as my team members.

Winning and cup running over philosophy to me is about giving, and when my family and I have a windfall I get excited about what I can give away, not what I can buy for us.

The millionaire mind and successful business owners think this way, and if I ever think the way Scrooge does then I pray God send His angels to show me a better way. Am I perfect in this regard? Absolutely not, but when I do lay my own agenda down for the benefit of others it’s amazing how it returns to me four fold. I don’t give to get, but when God in heaven sees the generosity of His children I can’t help but think that he smiles knowing that all of it comes from His hand.

 

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Customer Service, Habits, Service, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

