Achievement and Relationship

image001As I began the day I felt overwhelmed with the tasks that lay before me. My M.O. when such happens is to concentrate best I can on the task in front of me, and I move on to the next thing.

I dropped my daughter off, and as I headed back to the office I started mentally checking off things to do as I anticipated servicing a client’s house.  As I moved about the office, aka, my house I put all the ducks in a row, climbed aboard the company vehicle, and headed out to Germantown to do what I do best – maid service.

This particular east Nashville home is a lovely home that has several renovations that are delightful to the eye. If enough of my customer’s were to okay picture taking of their homes I’d love to start a board on Pinterest with the things they’ve done to their houses.  When I recorded my commercial several years ago that customer gave me permission to do so in their lovely home provided all identifying marks were removed from camera view. I could certainly postulate that scenario to my present client base.

That was a tangent, but as I moved about the house I skipped linen detail because my time was at a premium due to other business engagements in the city. As I rounded my last task and loaded my trunk I was pleased with the way my time management was going, and Tuesday was progressing even better than I thought it would. I was still somewhat pressed for time, and I wondered if everything would get done.

When I left a retail location with all I had to purchase I was pleasantly surprised to see it took half the time I thought it was going to take, and when I unloaded everything out of the car into the office I saw I had time to go by another retail location for a Christmas networking gift. I was elated.

Not only was the day going smoothly, but I was ahead of schedule.

By the time I was back at my daughter’s school I had time to pause and take in some Michael W. Smith Christmas music. My tacit protocol carried over into a peaceful negotiation of school traffic and trip home for my daughter to do her homework.

As I sit here now contemplating all of it I think even more about all the things that are on the docket every day. When you come to grips with the fact that there will always be something to accomplish you receive a peace in the midst of a reality that visits us all. You have to be intentional about finding that peace, but more is accomplished when you intentionally lay your head on your pillow at night knowing you gave it your best.

Don’t beat yourself up over spilled milk. If you really are unhappy about the way a day went look intentionally at what was accomplished.

If need be write down daily to do lists or put it in your iPhone, but try not to punish yourself or your loved ones for what didn’t get done.

Even in the hectic world of the 9-5 what matters most is relationship.

We just have to be reminded of that from time to time.

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

