Losing A Customer

Last Wednesday morning I was going down Granny White Pike headed to Nashville’s Germantown to clean a house. The client called me and told me that it just wasn’t going to work.

As I’ve said before I’ve been in business for 5 years, and I’ve had similar conversations. Every business person has. Turnover is par for the course. There are many reasons why customers and service companies part ways.

I encourage you to remind yourself that it’s just business. It’s not personal. I have to remind myself of this every time a customer ends our business relationship. I take things personally, and I always have, but when you are in business for yourself you have to do your best to delete that kind of attitude. I’m not saying you don’t care about your service or product or treat your customers rudely, but realize that you will lose and gain clients.

As a sole proprietor I feel this reality more acutely because one client is a large percentage of my revenue, and my sales efforts kick into play every time I lose a client. That’s kind of a “duh” statement, but it gives me hope and encouragement. I hope it does the same for you.

Don’t give in to negative energy even if you know you were at fault in losing the client. Learn from your mistake, and move on. If it was no fault of your own, then especially, move on, and realize there are plenty of other fish in the pond.

Till next time good people! Happy cleaning!

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Customer Service, Sales. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

