Hurry Up and Wait

Offering specials and incentives are important initiatives in the world of sales. It’s human nature.

Yet, human nature in our fast-paced culture does not include waiting.

Waiting is hard because we think we do all the right things, yet the sale alludes even the most savy salesmen. Seeds are planted, however, and it may take months to harvest them.

One such example happened to me some years ago as I’m pushing my daughter in a park swing, and I strike up a conversation with a mom who is doing the same for her daughter next to us. I hand her a business card, and we go our merry ways. It was at least 6 months when she called me, and I barely remembered our meeting in the park. I ended up cleaning for her for over a year. It was a delightful experience.

As small business owners go about their work week after week in the field, on the internet and at the parks I’m reminded that it takes perseverance to make this thing work. My accountant told me that it takes a long time to make a business successful, but if we are persistent and patient the work pays off.

It feels good to think about that on Labor Day 2012.

I hope it helps.

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Sales. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

