Perspective

Starbucks is a place of business, and the one I write from now is not far from Michael Dell’s Nashville call center and manufacturing facility. I sold computers for a brief period there, and as I sit here contemplating that I’m reminded of that experience.

It was good and bad, but I choose to focus on the good as my business and theological teachers’ lessons come to mind.

I had a 30% close rate at Dell, and for sales that is a really good percentage. We also had metrics to hit in terms of hardware, software, warranty upgrades and peripherial sales. Adding all 4 to a sale was appropriately called a grand slam, and you were compensated for the sale.

It was a great experience for what I do now because it taught me good phone call etiquette as I tried to close the sale as quickly as possible. That seems like a contradiction, but it facilitated a productive conversation that respected the customer, company and employee.

It taught me a valuable skill that I use now with client interaction and job performance.

The challenge to seeing the good in what seems to be a “failed” attempt is not lying, rather it is digging deeper into the karma for the good that is there.

Every job or business I’ve had has had good and bad aspects, but I choose to focus on the good.

I do not deny the bad. I learn from it, but progress comes when I focus and internalize the good.

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Business Inspiration, Career, Habits, Psychology, Sales, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

