Gratitude In Business

This morning as I arrive to service my first client I notice The Wall Street Journal on their table. As you know I love The Wall Street Journal, and I love all my clients without whom there’d be no Tomlinson Cleaning. Thank you customers. These particular clients are former contemporaries of mine at our alma mater, and they have always been an inspiration to me. They are the cream of the crop, and I love to be in their home because I feel like their excellence rubs off on me. I respect their anonymity because as a customer to companies myself I don’t like it when my name is broadcast in any form.

Well, as I go about my responsibilities it occurs to me to make a mental note of things that I can add in the customer service category that ensures brand loyalty. Yes, even one man shows can generate brand loyalty, and I have been in business long enough to know I never take a customer for granted. It doesn’t even matter if I’m cleaning my mom’s house. My mom is a client, but I respect her to the point that I will not give her the same excellent customer service I give everyone else much less cut corners. Not only is it unethical but it’s a “slap in the face” to our capitalistic democracy. We’ve worked too hard as a nation to settle for mediocrity even if it’s just scrubbing toilets.

So as I’m preparing my customer service file on said client above I add those things I want to do that will make their experience with Tomlinson House Cleaning, LLC even more memorable. It feels good. It is good. Imagine that – good things happen. What a concept.

When I broke for lunch I sat out on their deck in the beautiful weather with my pizza from last night and a cup of coffee. In the process I was able to dream and visualize our deck/porch with rocking chairs on it. My wife and I have talked about that before, and I almost missed that dreaming opportunity because I was thinking about skipping lunch to save some time before I serviced my second client.

Belle Meade is a beautiful community in Nashville, and as I was traveling through it on the way to my second client’s home I just breathed in the beauty of Percy Warner, Cheekwood and Highway 100.

This wonderful family I serviced next is no less an inspiration than the first, and it’s absolutely wonderful to help people who have a mutual respect for me. Not only do they empower me to send my daughter to a wonderful school, but they give me meaning and purpose such that I’ve never had before. Thank you again customers.

As I leave every client’s home I leave one of my business cards with a thank you written on it and the owner’s or renter’s names to follow. Gratitude in business is vital because it admonishes the customer, and it makes the professional feel good about him or herself.

Never underestimate gratitude, and the next time you receive great customer service thank your provider, and if you are a provider thank your customer. It builds bridges, and it makes for a better world.

Thank you for reading my post. Have a great evening.

 

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Service. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

