There Is Much To Be Done

Donald Trump tweeted to the effect that making money was not the end goal he set out to  obtain. It was the endeavor that led up to it that pumped the adrenaline.

I thought about that all day today as I cleaned, and it represents all that I am about now. I don’t think about hours, dollars and insurance anymore. I have a passion for a career. I’ve never been able to say, much less, write that.

It’s an amazing place to be.

When I played full-court basketball in college intramurals I got into that Michael Jordan “zone” when no one could stop me from scoring, and I see this state of career satisfaction as being akin to a zone of satisfaction that nothing can pull me away from.

My priorities are still in line. God, my wife, my daughter and extended family still take precedent over work, but it’s a blessing to have discovered something I’m extremely happy about that empowers me to serve God, my wife, daughter and extended family.

It’s a huge blessing that I’ve never possessed until now as I near my 40th year of living.

Work is an important aspect to a person’s life, and so many of us have spent hours, months and years trying to “figure” out who we are going to be.

I don’t think what you do makes you who you are, but I do think that when you find something you enjoy or buckle down to make what you are doing what you enjoy then you find a diamond in the rough. You find what most truly do not find their entire lives.

Lives of quiet desperation. I think that was Henry David Thoreau. It’s a sad place to be, and I spent many years there even after starting my business initially. It was hard to say the least, but I don’t think I’d be where I am had I not been what I’ve been through.

I’ve no doubt many professionals can attest to my observations, and I’m glad there are many out there that can because those who are waiting in the wings will need our knowledge, wisdom and presence to listen to figure it all out.

Even if I help just one person short change what I had to go through will be a priceless blessing for both of us, but life tells me there will be many people who will benefit from my personal and professional mistakes.

There’s so much high school, college and grad school doesn’t teach you, and to borrow from Toby Mac some of us have to learn the hardway. That’s better than not learning at all, and frankly when we stop learning we start dying. I have my dad to thank for that one.

If you are in a state of discontent or confusion let me tell you hope is out there. You may not see or experience it for years, but I assure you that you will find it.

Life is not fair, and there is no blue print for a “successful” life. Oh, there are common denominators. You have to get along with people. You have to earn money and pay taxes, and you have to eat, sleep, bathe and dress. The only thing left is to die, but that’s pretty easy. You don’t have to do anything for that. It’ll happen.

But until it does don’t ever think life won’t get better because it will. It’ll take some work, and I’ll be glad to share with you my experience. I’ll tell you what happened, how I responded to it positively and negatively, and how I got out to see the beautiful rainbow God has put before me.

Work is at the center of it, and if you expect to sit on the couch all day watching television than you are going to be one unhappy person, and you’ll die before you are supposed to. Don’t let that happen because there is much to be done, and only you can do it.

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Business Inspiration, Career, Habits. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

