Vocational Success

Friday was a good business day.

I like that sentence. It’s important for me, myself and I to recognize little things like that because it’s a challenge to keep this blog professional apart and different from The Real Daniel.  If Tomlinson House Cleaning hired a blog editor I might be more successful in that endeavor, but my intentions for this fine Limited Liability Company is to keep it a one man show, and my USP (Unique Selling Proposition) is the whole maid man scenario. As sole proprietor of said maid service I reserve the right to make it look the way I want it to look and function. Another fine sentence. And may I say it’s liberating to realize a dream that represents the stability others have mocked me about. I’ve “arrived” even if I am the bottom rung of the American caste system. I don’t give a damn except that I am to my wife and daughter what I need to be. When you’ve been to hell and back that’s a hell of an epiphany.

I take divine delight every morning I wake up, get up, prepare breakfast and perform my cleaning responsibilities with clients that appreciate my service. It’s a wonderful Ecclesiastes kind of day, and to borrow from Edwin McCain, “I could not ask for more.”

I guess it’s difficult to separate business from pleasure because as a friend of mine once said people take their problems with them to work. You have to be sensitive with yourself so that those problems don’t overshadow your service to your fellow man. I don’t think it’s so much completely separating business and pleasure inasmuch as it’s being realistic about what’s expected and how much of that can be accomplished. And when it’s not accomplished being at peace with the brokenness inherently present in business and pleasure.

The attitude and habit needed in this pursuit is one of patience and perseverance that doesn’t happen over night. And it might come and go in seasons of life, but the crux of the matter is that we continue to forgive ourselves, others and situations that are “random” because we know all of them are subjected to the fallen nature of our world.

It’s a liberating concept, and when we can delineate truth from fiction we can get on with the business of being who God created us to be in business and pleasure.

I’d love to hear your work place success stories coupled with what you have overcome to concentrate on your tasks.

I can’t talk about my success without talking about my depression, and five years into this business pursuit my depression is less of a factor because I have developed an attitude and habit that is making me successful in my career.

The truth of the matter is that though we aren’t “supposed” to mix business and pleasure it happens, but how do we balance the paradox?

I hope you’ll weigh in. Have a great weekend.

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Career. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

