Work, Rest and Play

My career as a housekeeping sole proprietor is successful because I have a healthy sense of humor.

This morning I did not even consult my Blackberry for client rotation. I went to the wrong house. It all worked out in the end, but you’ll find it humorous that I texted the wrong Friday client whether or not I cleaned their home last week or two weeks ago.

Had I been in my previous career path I would have really had an anxiety attack, but instead I calmly recognized the problem and resolved the conflict. Not only did I get to the correct house, but it was a highly successful visit that created a greater bond with the family dog. Beggin Strips always create a bond between man and dog.

When I finished with my work I made my way to the bank. I even had enough time to reward myself with a cup of hazelnut coffee and a chocolate chip cookie before I picked up my lovely bride from her Friday responsibilities as our primary bread winner.

During lunch today I was able to purchase the Hunger Games triology, and I’m looking forward to reading all three before they become available on Blu-Ray.

As I continue this journey in self-employment I’m reminded that work, rest and play are important things to consider in whatever line of work we do.

Frequently I think about Ecclesiastes, and though many believers think it’s a depressing book I see it as a manual for any man or woman who is searching for life’s true purpose.

That purpose is balance. God has put before us work to be done, people to help and a life to enjoy. I’m almost 40 years old, and I’m thankful that, though my career is low on the “caste system”, I have found work I enjoy. Solomon tasted everything life had to offer. Power, money, sex and fame were front and center for Solomon, but the balance he discovered was corporate and personal. Love God, work hard, and enjoy the fruits of your labor.

As we mature in our respective marketplaces and homes I think we can agree on that. We live in the greatest nation in the world, and our blessings can bless others. Millions still want to move here for the life they can create. I’m thankful to have been born here, and I am enjoying the work so many hard working Americans have afforded my wife, daughter and me, and I take none of it for granted because it can be gone in a second.

As we stand on the shoulders of great American pioneers and their foreign ancestors let’s pause this weekend and thank God for blessing us so that we may pay it forward to others who will in turn thank God and us for paving the way.

Thank you to all my great clients who make Tomlinson House Cleaning, LLC possible, and I thank you for reading my business drivel.

God bless you, and have a great weekend.

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Business Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

