Client Communication

Sunday night I sent out an email to a client verifying a Monday morning appointment. The email address was one the client infrequently checks. Hindsight is 20/20, but I should have kept the client’s work email address.

I did not clearly communicate with my client until a text exchange on Monday night and a phone call on Tuesday morning.

It’s important that I get the go ahead to clean from this client because they live in a condo community downtown, and I must pass the “gatekeeper” to access the condo. The protocol is totally understandable given our post 9/11 world, and it’s a pleasant experience in doing so.

However, I did not venture downtown because I was not able to communicate the go ahead with my wonderful customer.

When we finally connected I learned I’m on the regular guest list, and we agreed on a steady cleaning rotation that works for both of us.

I sighed a thankful prayer of gratitude as my fear of losing a customer was deleted.

Things like this happen on a business level and personal level when communication breaks down. I take full blame for the problem, but in this particular instance I’m glad it happened because it made me more of a sound and astute business man. It underscored, in my mind, how important communication is in any relationship. It taught me the importance of having customer contact info up to date, and when all else fails I must not let pride or self-pity prohibit me from picking up the phone for a question.

I hope my little experience helps you, and I’d love to hear about your miss communications in business.

Have a great day or evening as the case may be. 🙂

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in email, Service. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

