A Habit of Learning

My wife Carey woke up with no voice this morning, so I called The Dayani Center to tell Boyd she would not be rehabilitating people today. Carey is a Physical Therapist at Vanderbilt, so it’s pertinent she be able to speak to her patients.

After I got ready I headed to Franklin to give a prospect an estimate. We walked through the beautiful home and sat down to discuss the details. My prospect inquired about insurance and bonding, and I was delighted to tell her I had both. We exchanged some friendly small talk, and came to a verbal agreement. I don’t sign contracts with my clients. We both stood. I shook her hand, and we bid our farewells as I made my exit.

I share this because ever since the prospect called me I have been delighted that the avenue of advertising they found my company in cost a considerable amount of money. If everything goes as planned then the advertising will pay for itself.

I’ve learned several things since beginning this business.

1. Don’t be afraid to take risks.

2. Be willing to wait a long time for results.

3. Make sure you have plenty of liquid assets when you take risks. (Learned that the hard way!)

This particular risk has been very costly, but the time I’ve waited to see my ROI (Return on Investment) will pay off. Sigh.

Liquid assets, whether that be cash, money markets or CDs, in my case, are very important. I was just reminded of this by Dave Ramsey in his latest book Entreleadership. Thank you Dave! I won’t do that again! If I don’t have an envelope for it I’m not buying it! Even Dave’s Financial Peace University stuff applies to business! Imagine that!

Even though I’m a solopreneuer the principles that Dave Ramsey and other smart business men use are transferable. Dan Miller talks about transferable skills from job to job like conflict resolution. Never discount education because it isn’t directly addressed to you in your situation.

Like the prospect I met with this morning you never know where or when a piece of information may come as you journey through your marketplace.

If I’ve learned anything it’s that a small portion of our education comes through school, books and the internet. If we pay attention day in and day out there is already a mass of information waiting to be unveiled between our own two ears as we go about our work.

Have a nice day Nashville!

 

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Habits. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

