Starts and Stops

I left Hendersonville and went to Franklin to clean a home. I met with the client, and got to work. I began upstairs, and as I’m nearing completion I slash my finger on an HVAC register. It’s a deep wound.

That was about 4pm. I got to Vanderbilt ER about 5. I checked in, and about the time I’m going to get coffee they call me back. That was just one of many “call backs”. It wasn’t until 9:30 that I actually got called back for treatment, and by 10:30 I was sutured up for action.

Thankfully the kind client was extremely accommodating in rescheduling to finish the bottom floor. I had some intense momentum built up when I cut my finger, so it was disheartening to have to pack all my stuff up, call the client and head out to Vanderbilt from Franklin. I had just driven from north NORTH Nashville!

My point is not to complain because, even though it was incredibly frustrating, it was my first injury as a self-employed worker. I’ve made plenty of stupid decisions, and they led to business loss, but here right now I sense some momentum in the mix that my business is about to find it’s comfortable stride in the mile relay.

That was not the way I wanted to start the week out. I was surprised, however, how well this morning went. I got my daughter to school, and I cleaned a high-rise condo downtown really well considering I have four stitches in my right index finger. I’m right handed by the way, but I was able to keep the stitches dry with a food service glove my delightful dry cleaner gave me. That’s customer service right there. You will not go wrong using my dry cleaners on Donelson Pike right next to Subway. I can’t think of the name, but it’s across the street from a Mapco which is right next door to Bar-b-Cutie. Oh, I just remembered. It’s Joy Cleaners on Donelson Pike. They are fabulous! He even sewed a Tomlinson House Cleaning duffle bag for me. I love good customer service!

I just came across a great quote by Dan Miller.

Success is never an accident. It typically starts as imagination, becomes a dream, stimulates a goal, grows into a plan of action-which then inevitably meets with opportunity. Don’t get stuck along the way.

I was really let down because I could not finish cleaning that house yesterday, but I think the setback served to create an even stronger sense of desire and inspiration to build my cleaning empire.

Thank you to my wife Carey, Bryan, Keri and all the excellent medical professionals at Vanderbilt’s ER.

This is great city to do business in, and it’s also good when you can TGIM. If you can’t go see my good friend Dan Miller. He’ll help you find No More Mondays. 

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

