A Favorite Quote and Post to go with it

If you can dream it, you can do it. -Walt Disney

Walt chose to believe this, and as they say, the rest is history. I was driving down 12th avenue south the other day, and I saw a marquee that said, “Aspire to inspire before you expire.” I don’t know who said it, so if you do I’ll give credit where credit is due. Mr. Disney continues to inspire in his absence. My dream’s magnitude is not as large as the Disney corporation, but it is very important to me. When I write or talk about dreams I think it looks different for different people. The fact that we were born is a blessing to everyone we know and meet because God uses every human being to bless others. We tend to get caught in the trap of comparing, and we aren’t true to God, our families and ourselves. The world is a better place because of Walt Disney, and the fact that Walt allowed God to use him to create what he created.  You don’t have to have God and Jesus written all over something to see that God and Jesus are present. God is good, and if good is seen than God is seen. I think you get my point.

So, what’s the first step in realizing our dreams? Ask and you will receive. Seek and you will find. Knock and the door will be opened. King David never read the Sermon on the Mount, but his cup still ran over because he read the Bible that Jesus read, and his relationship with God was deep and abiding. The Bible that Jesus read talked about the same things the New Testament talked about. It talked about victory and defeat, and David knew them both very intimately. David also knew how to wait. He knew God’s timing was different than his own, and like an aged bottle of wine it got better as time passed. Does God grant wishes over night? He’s God. He can do anything, but my experience is that it takes a waiting period to see dreams come to fruition.

I’ve been working for the better part of a year to secure two houses to clean a day in a very posh area of town called Belle Meade. Belle Meade is beautiful. Why do I want to clean in Belle Meade? Walt built Disneyland in Anaheim, and he decided to build Disney World in Kissimmee. I realize good and beautiful things are everywhere because God is everywhere, but in our free-will the freedom to make our own choices about things is the most beautiful thing of all. I am inspired by Belle Meade, and I have no ulterior motives than to want to work there. It gives me a sense of shalom and stability, and being a husband and father shalom and stability are important in the lives of my wife and daughter.

I suspect Walt Disney’s motives and judgment were similar.

If you were to achieve a dream you are passionate about what would it be. I’d love to hear from you. Some of you I know what your dreams are, but I’d still love to see them here on my blog so others can read about them too.

Happy dreaming!

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Business Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

