Business Etiquette

When I worked for Charlotte’s Coca-Cola bottling company there was an emphasis placed on appropriately placing ads and branding in retail locations.

I’m sure this emphasis began with the CEO in Charlotte, and the plant manager in Nashville enforced it with all parties involved here in the metro area.

Business on any level should be taken seriously. Jack Massey, no doubt, believed this about Kentucky Fried Chicken. The Frist family takes it to work every day at HCA, and Martha Ingram runs her empire in no less of a fashion.

I was writing about my layman knowledge of business at my fav Belle Meade Starbucks, and the quandary I was journaling about related to advertising. We are inundated with commercial appeals to buy products and services. We can’t pick up our smart phones, check our email, or get on Facebook without it hitting us in the face. We drive down the road or unwind with a drama on television only to be bombarded with what we’ve got to have.

I’m thankful for our free enterprise system, and I pray daily government stays small, so that those of us who make our economy better by working hard will smile each morning on the way to work.

The crux of the matter is whether or not we as salesmen cross the line from inappropriate, pushy salesmen and women to effective closers who fulfill a need for someone who sincerely needs our products or services.

This line is fine indeed, and I am guilty of crossing it, but past mistakes most certainly do not disqualify us from making our businesses high in etiquette and respect in the future.

It’s common sense really. It’s being able to read non-verbal communication, and even before that, making legitimate plans in our marketing, not set in stone mind you, but sticking to them and not going beyond them.

You might disagree, but I think there is a lot of waiting in sales. Patience is of the essence, yet we have to be ready to hustle when opportunity knocks. I was talking to my friend The Decorologist about this the other week. There can be days when you are shaking hand after hand and giving out business card after business card only to have 6 months pass between the exchange and an actual sale. But when the sales come sometimes the phone rings off the hook, and your scrambling for weeks on end. A good problem to have. My friend Tracy, a real estate agent, calls it feast or famine. It’s the nature of the beast.

The hard part is knowing when to sow the seeds and how much for the results you are seeking. I think it’s good I’m cognizant of the dichotomy because when you aren’t aware of something, or you are aware of something too much than you can’t balance other things in perspective. My tendency to overanalyze things can certainly keep me from taking action, but if you don’t analyze you will enter into something with zeal and no knowledge.

Seems I’ve solved this existential question in my own head.  You have to get the word out about your business, but don’t be obnoxious to the point that you loose the business you are trying to get.

I’d love to read your replies.

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Business Etiquette

  1. Kaci says:

    Great thoughts!!

    Beautiful home!

Leave a Reply

