Laundry

I finished cleaning a Brentwood house yesterday, and on the way to the bank my wife Carey called for her cel phone charger. I told her I’d be glad to bring it to her, so when I left the bank I went home to let our dog Lucy roam in the backyard for a bit while I ate lunch. I had some time to kill, so I looked at the ad proof from nFocus, and I was delighted at what Carla put together.

When I met up with Carey to give her the cel phone charger I stopped by a local bookstore to see if they had a book I’m waiting to buy, but they didn’t have it. They did have another book I’ve waiting to get as well, so I put it on hold to purchase later.

The book is by Cheryl Mendelson titled, Laundry:ย The Home Comforts Book of Caring for Clothes and Linens. Cheryl included a large portion of this book in her 1999 work called Home Comforts. I sat down in the bookstore to scan it because it wasn’t quite time to pick my daughter up from school.

I was drawn to a section on ironing. I’ll elaborate about ironing later, but it’s been something I’ve been thinking more about since a recent experience we had with a laundry company and a large amount of our clothes. I was impressed with how good our clothes and such looked after the company returned them. I actually ironed some things last week when we were in Atlanta, and it was a pleasant task, and my pants looked and felt better when we headed out to downtown to see Peter Pan.

I’m mainly posting to see if I can get your reflections on ironing, and why or why you don’t iron.

Looking forward to hearing from you. Happy ironing.

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Laundry

  1. Kevin says:

    I iron because I care

  2. I don’t quite know why, but I hate ironing. And I am AWFUL at it. It’s so frustrating to me. So I only buy clothes for me and my kids that don’t require ironing. My husband takes his dress shirts to a laundry, and we are all happy ๐Ÿ™‚ I try to hang things immediately out of the dryer to reduce wrinkles, and I use a small water sprayer to squirt wrinkled items – I then hang them up, smooth them out with my hands, and let the wrinkles fall out. Good enough for me ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I totally understand that modus operandi. I tend to lean toward looking at ironing that way, but obviously it’s something I’m thinking about incorporating in the Tomlinson home and client homes. I think most people do not like ironing because of time deficients. A client yesterday expressed her dissatisfaction with folding and putting up clothes and linens, and I had to agree with her, but we concluded, obviously again, it had to be done. Ironing today is optional if you do it like The Decorologist. That puts light on the subject. Thank you Kristie.

Leave a Reply

