Life Is Good


I feel euphoric about today’s post. The context is a simple matter, but I’ve found my simple mind thinks simple matters are euphoric.

Solomon agrees.

No, I’m not talking about sex. I’m writing instead about work. My focus here is Ecclesiastes, not Song of Songs.

The image to the right is my kitchen before I wash the dinner dishes, and the second image is after.

I love to clean. My thirty second commercial by Souder Productions makes that very statement. Solomon praised the value of work all the way through Ecclesiastes. I think you should love your work. When I face an obstacle, such as you see in the first image, I visualize the second image and motivation inspires me to wash the dishes. I don’t always feel like washing them, but I’m always glad I did. The passion to clean reignites itself as a “second-wind”.

I’m somewhat of an expert on job satisfaction because since 2000 I’ve been through at least ten jobs. I’ve been cleaning 4 years now, and it’s the longest gig I’ve had since graduating college.

Truth is stranger than fiction, and some people decide as high school sophomores what they want to be when they grow up, but I would be willing to bet that is the exception.

Thankfully, the phone has been ringing off the “hook” recently with prospects interested in my service. My advertising avenues, notably my website, have been paying off.

I began servicing a new client in Brentwood, and I’ll begin a new client in Green Hills in a few weeks. I think when people see you genuinely enjoy your work they are more apt to buy from you, and when you add a personal touch it breaks down other barriers too. There is always the professional side to any business endeavor because you aren’t trying to become someone’s best friend, but at the same time, in my case, being in someone’s home is a very private and personal matter, so stoicism is inappropriate as well.

There’s a fine line, but I think if you are a responsible reader of verbal and non-verbal communication you will be successful in business and life.

There are so many things that go into a good life, and I can’t think of any person who aims for a bad life, but it seems one strong common denominator is that those that are successful enjoy their work.

I say I love to clean in my commercial, and that is melodramatic for video’s sake, but if I’m interviewing two different people to clean my house I know I’d rather have someone who smiles, tells me they enjoy cleaning and gives me straight forward answers about what they do and how much they charge.

I think you could apply this to any human exchange of service and money.

When you don’t enjoy your work you rob yourself and everyone in your circle of influence of happiness. I know life is much more complicated than that, but work takes up so much of our time that I sincerely believe it’s worth the time and effort to find work that makes us happy.

I would address play here, but I’m going to leave that one to your excellent ability to play.

Thanks for reading.

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Work. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life Is Good

  1. erutheone says:

    Daniel, your awesome.

Leave a Reply

