Satisfaction and Simplicity

Obviously from my last post dishes have been on my mind.  It’s hard to motivate myself to wash them when I cook because I don’t cook well.  When Carey cooks, a fire is lit under me to wash them because, well, she knows how to cook.  This morning was no exception with our delicious chocolate chip pancakes.

After breakfast was over all three of us went about our after meal protocols, and I became inspired to clean the microwave, wash the dishes and decorate.  I normally don’t dry the dishes, but I’ve begun that habit because our kitchen is small, and it saves time for the next meal.

This morning, however, I did something more than I normally do, and as I wrote before I decorated somewhat.  I cleared the area next to the drainer, and put a coffee colored lamp in the corner.  I moved the blender and the new West Bend can-opener we got for Christmas next to the lamp.  I cleared the area around the coffee maker for our coffee bean grinder, sugar bowl and cookie jar.

The sense of satisfaction and simplicity of the moment struck me as beautiful.

I think that’s one reason I clean.  It gives me a great sense of satisfaction, and I can’t think of anything more simple than that.

This business I’ve built with Tomlinson House Cleaning, LLC is obviously not rocket science, but it does require a willingness to work hard and attention to detail.

Gina, a Belle Meade resident, contributes mightily to my own sense of satisfaction and simplicity because she is vocal with praises about my work ethic and attention to detail in cleaning her beautiful home.

In a sense, when a customer is satisfied with my work she contributes in making both our world’s simpler because she empowers me to keep going in work I enjoy, and I empower her to spend more time in areas she would rather focus on.  It’s a win/win.

So many people hate their work.  Some don’t even have work, and that dissatisfies them. Our work is important because as far as I’m concerned it’s the best therapy in the world. I still have a psychologist and psychiatrist, but the things God reveals to me through the time I spend in work is staggering. There’s a satisfaction and simplicity there that is beyond words.

Rich, middle class and poor have one thing in common.  All of us get to work, and there’s extreme satisfaction and simplicity about that no matter what our zip code is.

About Tomlinson Cleaning, LLC

I've been cleaning Middle Tennessee homes since 2007.
This entry was posted in Dishes, Psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

